The Bird Feeder

First post! I’m gonna start things off with one of my favorite projects that I made a few months ago. A bird feeder. It’s a favorite because not only do I think it turned out well, but it makes birds (and squirrels) happy every day. Can’t put a price on that. So let’s start at the beginning!

First I went to Michael’s and wandered into the bird house/feeder section. I chose this one, but they had many more styles to choose from.

Cute right? You just pull up the top and fill the middle with bird seed. So after 10 minutes of trying to make a decision on which one to get, it was time to pick out some colors. I went with a purple-teal color theme. I think some bright summery colors would be nice too. So then I grabbed some small bottles of acrylic paint, less than $2 each, and another small bottle of outdoor varnish because I didn’t want to have to worry about rain or dirt ruining the paint.

photo 1(4)

And then I grabbed some cheap paint brushes, 3 or 4 for about $5. Usually I prefer foam brushes but this had some smaller details that foam brushes wouldn’t be able to get to without making a huge mess……not that I don’t make a huge mess anyway.

photo 2(4)

And that’s all you’ll need! Time to get to work.

I started with the roof. I ended up pulling it off the rope so I could paint the bottom, but it was quite a hassle to get the rope back through. Just FYI if you get something like this.

photo 1(5)

Then it was time to paint the bottom! Pretty straightforward here, once you decide what colors to put where. I also found some cute leftover little bird stickers that I’d used in a previous project and I thought they would go perfectly with this so I put some on the windows. If the bird seed didn’t give it away, maybe little birds on the windows would let the birds know this was for them? (The squirrels, however, did not get that hint.) Done!

photo 2(5)

I definitely call this project a success and I discovered the old saying is also true for birds. The key to a bird’s heart is through its stomach. The birds are loving this and it took me only a few hours to make. And now I have new bird (and some squirrel) friends! Look out Snow White. I know your secret.

Leave a Reply

